Experimenting with Reaper


Well, it’s been a long time since I wrote here. Every time I started to write something I just got this “bleh” feeling inside. But that’s ok — I’m writing now.

So me and my girlfriend bought a new laptop and it’s been working like a charm. I’m a PC user because since I was a kid I’ve gotten used to working with PC. Now that I’ve got a quad-core processor and a ton of RAM to play around with I’m presented with a vast array of new possibilities. So, I downloaded free trial version of Reaper (I remembered one of my friends talking about it) and started to study it. Man, that software is the shit!

I’ve been experimenting with all sorts of plug-ins and midi options and it’s quite overwhelming. Basically I had never used any real VST plug-ins before and now I could play around with amp modelers, synthesizers etc. Just today I recorded a video trying to test out first of all my web camera and also the quality of FreeAmp 2.5SE. It’s pretty good to say the least.

I just plugged my guitar straight to the line-in of the laptop and started playing. That’s just too easy. Kids these days have everything better, haha.

Anyway, if you want to check out FreeAmp yourself you can find it here.

About Ianuarius

A Finnish guitarist, composer and guitar teacher. View all posts by Ianuarius

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

