Realization of Musical Desires


As I was not falling asleep the last night I started to think my musician career. This is the time when inspiration strikes me. If you ever feel your inspiration is down the best thing to find it is to RELAX. My inspiration usually grabs me when I’m in sauna or lying in bed. Begin to contemplate what you want in life and what is the logical route there.

What got my mind going right then and there? I don’t know. But I started to think about what I really want to do as a musician. The answer was and has always been very clearly there: I want to create music.

So, I decided I’m gonna concentrate on writing an albumful of music.

Previously there have been a lot of problems with this kind of projects.  Mainly, I don’t know what I’m gonna write my songs about. I want to sing but if I’m gonna write lyrics I need to figure out the concept of the song. Frankly, I can’t think of any good concepts. I think love songs and “baby, please don’t leave me” ballads are stupid as hell. Also, I don’t want to write anything too low-vibrational.

When I started to write this post I got an idea: “There’s gotta be some kind of tools for this shit around the Internet!” And there was!

Song Name Creator (Songname.net)

This tool is great! Though I might not use the names as they come I get a ton of free ideas there. When I’ve got the name figured out I can write the whole song complementing that concept. This is how I like to work. I’ve done a lot of game design and the basic rule there is to get the big picture down first. Write down what the game is about in one sentence. Then wireframe all the areas of the game — menus, gameplay, dialogues, updater, models etc.

So, what I’m gonna do here is to figure out the names of the songs first and start working down from there. I might scribble down the basic structures for all the songs, describe the moods of all the sections there and then try to highlight the points that require the most amount of tension.

Song Theme Ideas (LyricIdeas.com)

I also came about this other site that offers a table where you can pick the themes closest to your heart at the moment. This maybe could be useful for someone but for me it’s too overwhelming. I just need a few good ideas that I can refine to perfection. I just put it out there so that others may take advantage of it.

I’ll let you know how the work advances.

About Ianuarius

A Finnish guitarist, composer and guitar teacher. View all posts by Ianuarius

Leave a Reply

